1.jpg

HISTORY

Edenmore N.S. was built in 1912.  It is a co-educational primary school located in a scenic rural setting approximately two miles from Emyvale.  Although situated in the parish of Donagh it serves children from the neighbouring parishes of Truagh and Tydavnet. In 2005-2006, Edenmore N.S. underwent significant changes.  A new extension consisting of four mainstream classrooms and a computer suite was built and the original school was renovated.  The renovated school now boasts a general purpose room and additional staff and pupil facilities.  A new green play area has also been developed.

In September 2008, Knocknagrave N.S, a small two teacher school in the same parish was amalgamated with Edenmore N.S.  Following the amalgamation the number of pupils on roll increased and the teaching staff increased by two.  An extension was built to one of the rooms to facilitate the changes in classes and staff. Transport from the Knocknagrave catchment area is now provided through Bus Eireann.
A new extension was built onto the old school building last year and was completed just in time for the Centenary Celebrations in August 2012.  The extension comprises of a classroom and two smaller resource/learning support rooms.  The staff room and office were also refurbished as part of this building project.

The provision of the new Unit for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder since September 2016 is indeed another milestone in the history of the school. The class is known as Le Chéile and has been a great addition to the school. Presently the school has 6 mainstream classes and an ASD class. The number of pupils has risen to 156 as the school awaits another extension in the near future and a permanent home for our Le Chéile Class. There are 10 teachers, 4 SNA’s and a student support worker currently working in Edenmore N.S.